The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy was created at the end of the 1967-68 season. It is given to the player who possess the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.



Last Year’s Winner:

Max Pacioretty



2013 Nominees:

Sidney Crosby (Pittsburgh Penguins):

After suffering two debilitating concussions in the past few seasons and taking a puck to the face in March Crosby managed to finish fourth in the NHL for points.

Josh Harding (Minnesota Wild):

Minnesota Wild goalie, Josh Harding, was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis in the fall. He missed most of the season to undergo treatment but managed to play through the first round of the playoffs.

Adam McQuaid (Boston Bruins):

In September, Mcquaid was diagnosed with Thoracic Outlet Syndrome. McQuaid underwent two different surgeries to remove a blood clot, a rib, and some muscles in his neck.



Elaine’s Pick

Josh Harding

Playing through an illness is commendable on any level especially one that affects a person both mentally and physically. Many people with MS can barely walk with out the help of a cane let alone stop flying objects while on ice skates. Harding managed to help lead the Wild to the playoffs and gave the Hawks a run for their money all while suffering from MS.



Who Got Snubbed

Roberto Luongo

Perserverance doesn’t just cover physical illness. It also means being able to handle adversity which is why I believe Roberto Luongo should be in the running for the Masterton. I admire Luongo’s ability to rise up against the nay sayers and the non believers. It takes a lot for a person to continue doing what they love when barely anyone believes in them.



  © 2012 crash the net

Privacy Policy