The Vezina Trophy was first awarded after the 1926-27 season to the goalie who allowed the fewest goals. At the end of the 1981-82 season the trophy was awarded to the most exceptional goalie in the league. 


Last Year’s Winner

Henrik Lundqvist


2013 Nominees

Sergei Bobrovsky (Columbus Blue Jackets)

Bobrovsky helped lead the Columbus Blue Jackets as they barreled towards their dreams of making the playoffs. An average of 2 goals allowed, .932 save percentage, and 4 shutouts puts Bobrovsky in the running for the Vezina.


Henrik Lundqvist (New York Rangers)

Lundqvist tied for first in the league with 24 regular season wins and allowed an average of 2.05 goals per game.

Antti Niemi (San Jose Sharks)

Antti Niemi saw 43 regular season starts, the most of any goalie this season. Four shutouts and .924 save percentage has placed Niemi in the running for the Vezina.


Elaine’s Pick


Sergei Bobrovsky

Instead of pouting after about being traded to the Columbus Blue Jackets , Sergei Bobrovsky rose to the challenge. Bobrovsky quickly became a fan favorite for his ability to contort his body into any position to stop a puck. His hardwork, dedication, and positivity spread across the team like wildfire. If it wasn’t for Bobrovsky the Columbus Blue Jackets would not have even been in the fight of their lives for a playoff spot.



  © 2012 crash the net

Privacy Policy